top of page
Ecuador Facts 

Location: Northwest of South America, Pacific Ocean

Geographic Coordinates: 0°13′ S 78°31′ O

Area: 256.370 km2 of extreme biodiversity

Capital: Quito

Elevation Extremes: Lowest Point Pacific Ocean 0 meters Highest Point: Chimborazo 6310 meters

Population: 14.233.123

Languages: Spanish (official), Quechua,

There are 18 different languages in native communities

Religion: 95% Catholic

Government Type: Democratic Republik

Life Expectancy: Male 70 / Female 76

Independence: 1822

Largest City: Guayaquil

Exports: Bananas, flowers, shrimps and Cocoa Beans

Borders: Colombia and Peru

Currency: American Dollar

Country phone code: + 593

GTM time: - 5

Ecuador (from Latin aequātor), officially Republic of Ecuador is a country located in northwestern South America.


Ecuador is a multiethnic country with rich cultural, natural and archaeological sites. located in the equator, is the smallest of the Andean countries, but has the highest biodiversity per square meter of the continent.


Its capital is San Francisco de Quito, where the major State and National Government is located. Its largest city is Santiago de Guayaquil, the main seaport and an important economic center.


Ecuador has 24 provinces, divided into four natural regions: Amazonia, Costa, Sierra, and the Galápagos Islands.


In Ecuador there are 55 volcanoes, and the highest is Chimborazo, with 6384 meters. Ecuador is the country with the highest concentrations of rivers per square mile in the world. Ecuador is also the major exporter of bananas, flowers, shrimps and cacao.


The official language is Spanish, with its own idioms and peculiarities in each area or region. Quichua, Shuar, Tsachila, and other indigenous languages are recognized within their respective areas of use, Quechua is spoken and used by 10% of the Ecuadorian population.


It is estimated that 95% of Ecuadorians are Catholic.

bottom of page